Snead State Students Honored


Students were honored for their achievements during the annual Awards Day ceremony at Snead State Community College on Thursday, April 14.

Snead State Community College President Dr. Robert Exley presented the President’s Awards to a student majoring in an academic field and a student pursuing a technical field of study. The Academic Award went to William Brock Colvin of Albertville, and the Technical Award went to Brent E. Brackett of Boaz.

The Dean’s Awards, presented by Dean for Liberal Arts and Student Success Dr. Annette Cederholm, are also given in two categories – Academic and Technical. William A. Rivera of Albertville received the award in the Technical category. The Academic Awards went to Emily N. Wilson of Albertville.

Other award recipients included:

Accounting – Cassie Long of Guntersville.
All-Alabama Academic Team members – Brooke Hubbard of Sardis and Caleb Tarvin of Boaz.
Biology – Bailey Morton of Altoona.
Business – Mitchell Gore of Albertville. Applied Business – Danielle Hopper of Altoona.
Computer Science – Brent Brackett of Boaz.
Economics – Ben Salter of Altoona.
Electronics – Kimberly Cook of Union Grove.
English – Chandler Tarvin of Boaz.
History – Robert Compton of Arab.
Mathematics – Sophomore Award: Adzovi Dzodzina Holali Kassegne of Boaz. Freshman Award: Wesley Burns of Boaz.
Music – Most Improved Musician: Chelnessa Minor Kochler of Guntersville. Best All Around Music Student: Ryan Brooks of Boaz.
Nursing –Highest GPA in First Level RN: Summer Gill of Arab. Highest GPA in Second Level RN: Heather Leyva of Horton.
Office Administration – Gabrielle Wilson of Boaz.
Political Science – Preet Grewal of Guntersville.

Some students continuing their education at other institutions were awarded scholarships. The scholarship recipients included: 

Auburn University – Allison Bailey of Albertville, Karli Chamblee of Guntersville, Keaton Clay of Boaz, Tanner Craig of Albertville, Ryan Davis of Arab, Isai Franco of Albertville, Jodie Taylor Kennamer of Guntersville, Maria Escobar of Horton, Autumn McClendon of Guntersville, Bailee Padgett of Boaz, Ryan Pettis of Horton and Shelby Reid of Pinson.
Athens State University – Marshall Cater of Arab, Samantha Chamblee of Crossville, Shannon Jackson of Lacey’s Springs, Benjamin Salter of Altoona, Hunter Bentley of Grant, Kyle Summers of Bridgeport and Macie Upchurch of Boaz.
University of Alabama – Mayson Chadwick of Fyffe, Brooke Hubbard of Boaz, Tori Pendley of Haleyville, Jessica Dunbeck of Albertville, Ryan Prickett of Albertville, Noah Campbell of Albertville, Chandler Tarvin of Boaz, Stephen Caleb Tarvin of Boaz, Sydney Shelton Daugette of Union Grove, Mary Harris of Boaz, Macy West of Haleyville, William Brock Colvin of Albertville, George Shipman of Boaz, Clayton Morrow of Arab, Emily Duncan of Madison, Kennedy Nicholson of Boaz, and Madison Wilson of Boaz.
University of Alabama at Birmingham – Connor Mason Holcomb of Albertville, Brooke Hubbard of Sardis, Taylor Ishee of Walnut Grove, Adzovi Kassegne of Boaz, Sarah Naylor of Boaz, Chrstine Nguyen of Albertville, Trenton Patterson of Boaz, Macy West of Haleyville, Presley Willoughby of Albertville, Madison Wilson of Boaz, Sara Womack of Boaz, and Courtney Becca Brooks of Sardis.
University of Alabama in Huntsville – Caitlin Adams of Union Grove, Caitlyn Baker of Killen, Hannah Boyles of Guntersville, Gordon Cannon of Guntersville, Maria Chavez of Albertville, David Cherry of Altoona, Paige Cole of Sardis, Hunter Dunn of Albertville, Mason Keller of Guntersville, Zachary Kennedy of Albertville, Abigail Maltbie of Boaz, Long Nguyen of Arab, Juan Nieto of Albertville, Dana Overton of Albertville, Jarrod Parker of Arab, Steven Ramey of Boaz, Collin Rosson of Boaz, Sydney Shelton Daugette of Union Grove, Jacqueline Slaton of Boaz, Alexandra Thrasher of Guntersville, Nicholas Walsh of Harvest, Nicolas Michael Walsh of Arab, Madison Wilson of Boaz and Sara Womack of Boaz.
University of Montevallo – Allison Bailey of Albertville, Janetta Bozarth of Boaz, Emily Duncan of Madison, Sydney Shelton Daugette of Union Grove, and David Wooten of Henagar.
Lee University – Macie Upchurch of Boaz.

Several organizations were also recognized for their hard work throughout the year. Those clubs included the History Club, Phi Beta Lambda, College Bowl, Ambassadors, Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Association and the Fishing Team, which won Club of the Year.

Back to News Listing